The Past Isn’t Always Pretty

IMG_20160109_134732

Well, I brought the past into the present, and it was pretty scary. I survived, but just barely. But first things first.

I assembled all my ingredients for My Very Nice Pudding. I plucked my Kerrygold from the refrigerator. I used real whipping cream (after all, I was trying to bring the past into my kitchen.) I gathered my spices and my other ingredients.

Then, I started baking.

It smelled good. It looked good.

But it was anything but. It turned out more like a cake than a pudding, but grainy and wet, like softened cornmeal.

If that was the way it was supposed to be, then I might have starved had I been a colonial.

IMG_20160109_163335My advice? If you are feeling adventurous, then try it!

But if you are not adventurous, then I’ll make it easy for everyone to still participate in our January Cooking Challenge.

This month, post your favorite comfort food for wintertime. Be sure and include something in the picture so we will know it came from your kitchen.

Remember, if I get at least twenty postings this year (not including my own) I’ll hold a drawing at the end of the year for a $25 gift card and an autographed copy of one of my books – your choice. That includes genealogy books as well as novels.

And I will have two more of each to pick from by year’s end, God willing!

In the meantime, I’ll try next month’s recipe ahead of time.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Past Isn’t Always Pretty

  1. Pingback: The Tunnel’s End |

  2. Pingback: Of Times & Of Tides – February Cooking Challenge |

Leave a Reply

